top of page

21st Birthday in Auckland, New Zealand!

Whenever I would think about Auckland, New Zealand I couldn't help but think about the final scene of The Wolf of Wall Street, the sell me this pen scene where the real Jordan Belfort makes a cameo and introduces Leonardo DiCaprio by saying, "I want you to give a warm Auckland, New Zealand welcome for my good friend and the world's greatest sales trainer, Mr. Jordan Belfort." This is where Jordan Belfort is released from prison is making a living off hosting seminars on sales techniques and out of all places he's in Auckland, New Zealand. This was the only image of Auckland, New Zealand that I ever really had and I had no prior information on the biggest city in New Zealand. If you know me really well you'll know that after Australia that New Zealand was the next destination on my bucket list. I've always dreamed of being able to go to New Zealand. Being able to spend my 21st birthday in New Zealand was something I never imagined and I can't help think how lucky I am to have had this once in a lifetime opportunity. My 21st birthday started off early with my airport shuttle picking me up at 2:30 am with a 6:30 flight out of Brisbane Airport to Auckland Airport. The flight from Brisbane to New Zealand takes about 3 hours and New Zealand is 2 hours ahead of Queensland time so, I would be 16 hours ahead of my hometown in New York. My flight took a little longer due to the Auckland Airport being surrounded by a thick cloud of fog. My airplane had to land in Wellington at first and we were there for a few hours while we waited for the fog to settle in Auckland. I should've arrived in Auckland around 11 am but I got there at about 1pm. After picking up my luggage from baggage claim I left for my hostel on a SkyBus. The hostel that I stayed at was the YHA which is personally my favorite hostel I've stayed at while traveling abroad. Once I was settled into my room I got to explore the city that afternoon and night. I got to watch the sunset on the Quay with the beautiful Auckland skyline in the background, see the Sky Tower, go to the Viaduct Harbor, and see the art sculpture of The Lighthouse by Michael Pareōwhai. My birthday ended the Japanese Teppanyaki Restaurant Daikoku with a delicious hibachi dinner. Early Tomorrow would start my adventure through the Northern Island of New Zealand with the Kiwi Experience. Overall, my 21st Birthday was successful and I'm so lucky and fortunate to be able to spend my 21st birthday in two different countries even though I was flying and in the airport for most of it. I will never forget this day not only because it was my 21st Birthday but because this was the first time I had ever traveled alone and I its probably one of the best decisions I've ever made.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
Stefanie A.​ Mongiardo 
bottom of page